Ward 18 Willowdale
filion, john, council, councillor

The Office Team

Markus O’Brien Fehr

Chief of Staff

Markus.Obrien-Fehr@toronto.ca

416-395-6452

Catherine LeBlanc-Miller

Senior Advisor – Planning & Social Services

Catherine.LeBlanc-Miller@toronto.ca

416-395-0346

Brian Liberty

Special Assistant – Building, Parks & Facilities

Brian.Liberty@toronto.ca

416-395-6412

Sarah Barber

Constituency Assistant & Office Manager

Sarah.Barber@toronto.ca

416-395-6423

Selina Chignall

Constituency Assistant – Communications

Selina.Chignall@toronto.ca

416-338-4818

Ian Hwang

Constituency Assistant – Transportation & Infrastructure

Ian.Hwang2@toronto.ca

Jesse James

Constituency Assistant – Community Outreach

Jesse.James@toronto.ca

416-338-5298

Katiana Moussa

Constituency Assistant – Community & Culture

Katiana.Moussa@toronto.ca

416-338-5302

Prior to being elected to the new City of Toronto Council, John Filion was councillor for Ward 11 in the City of North York from 1991 to 1997. He was first elected to political office in 1982 as a member of the North York Board of Education, on which he served for nine years, including four years (1987-1990) as chairman. Before his election to North York Council, Filion worked as a journalist and book editor. He was born in 1950 and has an Honours Bachelor of Arts degree from York University.

During his 25 years in municipal politics Councillor Filion is known for involving the community in government decision making. Among his many accomplishments; as a School Board Trustee he established child care in schools; as a North York Councillor he added new parks, playgrounds and recreational facilities; as a Toronto Councillor and Chair of the Board of Health he introduced a restaurant rating system and a ban on smoking in restaurants.

Councillor Filion has held the following positions:

  • Toronto City Councillor
  • North York Councillor
  • Chair, Liaison Committee of Boards of Health in the Toronto Area
  • Chair, Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Substance Abuse Prevention
  • Chair, North York Board of Education
  • Chair, North York Board of Health
  • Chair, North York Environment Committee
  • Chair, North York Parks and Recreation
  • Chair and Member, Toronto Board of Health
  • Chair, Toronto Centre for the Performing Arts Advisory Committee
  • Member, Community and Neighbourhood Services Committee
  • Member, Economic Development Committee
  • Member, Planning and Transportation Committee
  • Member, Toronto Zoo Board of Directors

Councillor Filion believes that cities are collections of neighbourhoods. To maintain and build a strong city, council must focus on the needs of our communities and neighbourhoods. Residents should be involved in a real and meaningful way in all decisions which affect them. In determining all areas of policy for the new city, council should balance city-wide interests with the needs of individual communities.

(Information provided by Councillor for 2014-2018 term of Council)