Ward 6 York Centre
Councillor James Pasternak's portrait

Executive Assistant

Jacob Katz

Special Assistants

Anna Kral

Yelena Feyginberg

Administrative Assistants

Victoria Novinskaya

Phil Hattin


Councillor James Pasternak was elected to City Council in 2010 and re-elected in 2014. Councillor Pasternak sits on the Mayor’s Executive Committee as the current Chair of the Community Development and Recreation Committee.

During his time in office, Councillor Pasternak has been committed to fiscal responsibility while simultaneously investing in communities. Councillor Pasternak has championed the improvement of city parks, recreation programs, senior’s issues, public realm projects and road infrastructure throughout Ward 10 and has hosted numerous community meetings on topics such as transit, community safety, the arts, affordable housing and budgeting priorities. James was instrumental in making the recognition of the World War II Victory in Europe Day a major civic tribute to veterans and organized a major civic tribute to our 1972 Russia-Canada hockey heroes on the 40th anniversary of Canada’s victory.

Councillor Pasternak is credited with driving a number of transformative policy issues at City Hall. His work lead to the updating of the 15 year old City of Toronto Anti-Discrimination Policy; the creation of Toronto’s Tennis Excellence Framework; the move to expand Toronto’s student nutrition program; study the safety and privacy issues of drone aircraft; and bring the issue of e-cigarettes onto the Toronto Board of Health agenda.

Before coming to City Hall, James Pasternak was elected as a Toronto District School Board Trustee where he lead community initiatives such as special education and seeing the establishment of Toronto’s only Afrocentric Alternative School. Councillor Pasternak has earned degrees from the London School of Economics and Political Science, the University of Western Ontario and York University.

(Information provided by Councillor for the 2014-2018 term of Council)