Key dates for candidates and third party advertisers interested in participating in the 2022 municipal election.

Monday, May 2

  • First day to file a nomination paper for the offices of Mayor, Councillor and School Board Trustee
    • once the nomination paper is filed with the City Clerk, the candidate can start raising and spending money on their campaign
    • preliminary spending limit provided to candidates
    • preliminary contribution limit provided to candidates running for Mayor and Councillor (does not apply to School Board Trustee candidates)

 

  • First day to file a notice of registration as a third party advertiser
    • a third party advertiser cannot raise or spend money on their campaign, nor begin advertising, until their registration is certified by the City Clerk
    • preliminary spending limit provided to third party advertiser upon certification

Friday, July 29 at 2 p.m.

  • Deadline for candidates to:
    • file a nomination
    • withdraw a nomination
    • change office

Monday, August 1

  • Last day for the City Clerk to certify candidate nomination papers

Thursday, September 1

  • Voters’ List available to candidates

Monday, September 26

  • Final spending limits provided to candidates and registered third party advertisers
  • Final self-contribution limit provided to candidates running for Mayor and Councillor (does not apply to School Board Trustee candidates)

Friday, October 21

  • Last day to register as a third party advertiser

Monday, October 24

  • Election Day

Monday, January 2

  • End of campaign period for candidates and third party advertisers
  • Last day to file a Notice of Extension, Form 6, to continue campaigning to erase a deficit

Friday, March 24 at 2 p.m.

  • Deadline for candidates and third party advertisers to file the initial financial statement

Friday, June 30

  • End of extended campaign period

Friday, September 29 at 2 p.m.

  • Deadline for candidates and third party advertisers to file the supplementary financial statement (applies only to those who extended their campaign period)