November 22, 2022

The First Meeting of the 2022-2026 Toronto City Council term will take place on Wednesday, November 23 and Thursday, November 24. The meeting will feature ceremonial elements, confirm the election results, make appointments and address urgent Council business.

The agenda for the First Meeting is available on the City’s website.

Council make-up

This term, there are nine new Members of Council joining 16 incumbent Councillors and Mayor. New Members of Council are:

  • Alejandra Bravo (Davenport)
  • Amber Morley (Etobicoke-Lakeshore)
  • Ausma Malik (Spadina-Fort York)
  • Chris Moise (Toronto Centre)
  • Dianne Saxe (University-Rosedale)
  • Jamaal Myers (Scarborough North)
  • Jon Burnside (Don Valley East)
  • Lily Cheng (Willowdale)
  • Vincent Crisanti (Etobicoke North)

Returning members of Council are:

  • John Tory (Mayor)
  • Anthony Perruzza (Humber River-Black Creek)
  • Brad Bradford (Beaches-East York)
  • Frances Nunziata (York South-Weston)
  • Gary Crawford (Scarborough Southwest)
  • Gord Perks (Parkdale-High Park)
  • James Pasternak (York Centre)
  • Jaye Robinson (Don Valley West)
  • Jennifer McKelvie (Scarborough-Rouge Park)
  • Josh Matlow (Toronto-St Paul’s)
  • Michael Thompson (Scarborough Centre)
  • Mike Colle (Eglinton-Lawrence)
  • Nick Mantas (Scarborough-Agincourt)
  • Paul Ainslie (Scarborough-Guildwood)
  • Paula Fletcher (Toronto-Danforth)
  • Shelley Carroll (Don Valley North)
  • Stephen Holyday (Etobicoke Centre)

Ward profiles that include demographic and other information for each City ward are available on the City’s Ward Profiles webpage.

Ceremonial elements

Indigenous Welcoming Ceremony

In advance of the First Meeting and in the spirit of unity, Elder Garry Sault from the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, Treaty Partners and Urban Indigenous leaders will welcome newly re-elected Mayor John Tory and Members of Council as partners in peace, friendship and respect on Nathan Phillips Square.

The Ceremony will include smudging, the lighting and passing of the pipe and water teachings. The circle will include the Mayor, Members of Council, Indigenous Leaders and Treaty Partners.

This is the first time an Indigenous-led ceremony has ushered in a new term of office.

Moment of silence

Members of Council will observe a moment of silence and personal reflection.

Indigenous blessing and land acknowledgement

City Clerk John D. Elvidge will acknowledge that the land Council is meeting on is the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee and the Wendat peoples and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. The Clerk will also acknowledge that Toronto is covered by Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit.

Elder Sault will offer a blessing in the Chamber using water from the morning’s Welcoming Ceremony.

O Canada

At the start of the First Meeting of Council, Canada’s national anthem will be sung by grade 5 students from Claude Watson School for the Arts.

Declaration of Office for the Mayor, Chain of Office

Following the Declaration of Office for the Mayor, the Chain of Office will be presented to Mayor John Tory. Although decorative, the practice of wearing a Chain of Office has become steeped in historic tradition, and is one that is followed not only by elected officials, but by the executives of civic organizations as well.

A modern Chain of Office is composed of several elements joined together with pieces of chain, from which hangs a medallion. Chains of Office are almost always sewn onto a velvet collar, which is not only decorative, but makes the chain much more comfortable to wear.

Chain of Office is symbolically placed around the Mayor’s neck and traditionally worn throughout the inauguration ceremony at the First Meeting of Toronto City Council.

More information about the Chain of Office is available on the City of Toronto Symbols webpage.


Election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker

Mayor John Tory has advised Toronto City Council that in accordance with Chapter 27, Council Procedures, of the Toronto Municipal Code, he consents to the election of a Speaker and Deputy Speaker by City Council.

The Speaker presides over City Council meetings. The Deputy Speaker chairs the City Council meeting when the Speaker is absent.

The election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker is for the term of Council.

Appointment of the Striking Committee

City Council will appoint members to the Striking Committee. The Striking Committee will meet at 9:30 a.m. on November 24 to make recommendations on the 2023 meeting schedule, as well as member appointments to committees and boards.

The meeting agenda for November 24 is available on the City’s website.

Toronto is home to more than 2.9 million people whose diversity and experiences make this great city Canada’s leading economic engine and one of the world’s most diverse and livable cities. As the fourth largest city in North America, Toronto is a global leader in technology, finance, film, music, culture and innovation, and consistently places at the top of international rankings due to investments championed by its government, residents and businesses. For more information visit the City’s website or follow us on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

Media Relations