Sign-up for E-Updates to receive periodic updates and notices about upcoming meetings and events.

Type (do not copy and paste) your email into the box below, and check the box.

Get King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review E-Updates

Unsubscribe

The personal information on this form is collected under the authority of the City of Toronto Act, 2006. The information is used to allow the City to send you an email to confirm your wish to subscribe to a City of Toronto e-notice. Questions about this collection may be directed to the ListServ Administrator, Strategic Communications Division, City of Toronto, Toronto City Hall, 7th floor, West Tower, Toronto M5H 2N2. Telephone: 416-397-5318. By subscribing to one of the City of Toronto’s e-updates you are providing express consent, as defined by the Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), to receive email updates from the City of Toronto.

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

November 9, 2020
Update #13

Fall Consultation Materials Now Available

Between October 22 and November 3, 2020, City Planning held a series of online consultation events to provide an update and collect feedback on the King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review. Thank you to everyone who participated in our four sessions:

Thursday, October 22 – Virtual Open House (Project Overview)
Monday, October 26 – Queen Street East and Corktown Areas
Thursday, October 29 – Heritage, Parks and Public Realm
Tuesday, November 3 – Jarvis Parliament Area

Planning staff reported on our work in progress to refine the proposed Secondary Plan policies and update the zoning by-law for the area, took comments and answered questions.

If you were not able to join our live events, meeting materials will be posted at: www.toronto.ca/king-parliament. There you can also access a copy of the current revised Secondary Plan, red-lined to show revisions from the October 2019 draft. Meeting recordings are available upon request.

We invite you to review the materials and submit any comments you may have by November 30, 2020. Meeting this deadline allows us to continue moving forward with our work, consider the feedback and bring a recommended Secondary Plan and Area-Specific Zoning By-law Amendment to Council for consideration early next year.

If you would like to provide input to the Planning team, or if you have any questions about the study, please get in touch!

By Email – kingparliament@toronto.ca
By Phone – Call Melanie Melnyk at (416) 392-4524

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

October 1, 2020
Update #12

Virtual Consultation Events announced for October-November 2020

City Planning has been continuing to advance the King-Parliament Secondary Plan review. Now we want to hear from you!

Please join us for a Virtual Open House where we will provide an update on our work to refine the proposed Secondary Plan policies and update the zoning by-law for the area. You will also have an opportunity to ask questions and give us your feedback:

Thursday, October 22, 2020
7:00 – 8:30 pm

Live presentation will begin at 7:00 pm, followed by a question and answer period. This meeting will be online and phone-in only. Please note that this meeting will be recorded.

Meeting information and participation instructions will be posted at: www.toronto.ca/king-parliament. All material will be posted on the study website following the Open House.

There will be three additional online information sessions to provide more details and an opportunity for further discussion:

Queen Street East and Corktown Areas
Monday, October 26
7:00 – 8:00 pm

Heritage, Parks and Public Realm
Thursday, October 29
7:00 – 8:00 pm

Jarvis-Parliament Area
Tuesday, November 3
7:00 – 8:00 pm

Please register for any of these virtual information sessions using the contact information below.

If you would like to provide input on the proposed Plan to the planning team, or if you have any questions about the study, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Melanie Melnyk at (416) 392-4524.

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

July 10, 2020
Update #11

Work on the King-Parliament Secondary Plan and Zoning By-law continues!

Since our last update in November 2019, our City Planning team has been continuing to advance the King-Parliament Secondary Plan review, now from our work-from-home locations.

City Council’s consideration of the proposed Plan and accompanying staff report in October 2019 gave us a direction to move forward based on the draft policies. Our work is focused in three areas:

1. Policy Refinements and Concordance
We are refining and considering input on the draft Secondary Plan policies to ensure they are aligned with other planning documents, objectives and initiatives.

2. Parks & Public Realm
We are reviewing our mapping of parks, POPS, open spaces and pedestrian connections to ensure a cohesive public realm network that will serve the King-Parliament area. We are also refining the policies guiding the Public Realm Big Moves and Great Streets to ensure key principles are considered through implementation.

3. Zoning By-law Review and Updates
Our goal is to update the Zoning by-law applicable to the King-Parliament area so that it reflects the general direction and built form standards presented in the Proposed Secondary Plan, including streetwall heights, setbacks, step-backs, angular planes and building heights.

Draft materials are being prepared for a virtual Open House in September 2020, with a potential opportunity for in-person consultation depending on physical distancing regulations. All material will be posted on the study website for review and comment as well. Details will be provided in future e-updates.

If you would like to provide input on the proposed Plan to the planning team, or if you have any questions about the study, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Melanie Melnyk at (416) 392-4524.

 

Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-4524
Twitter and Instagram:
• Follow: @CityPlanTO
• Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

November 13, 2019
Update #10

Reminder: Policy Directions Open House

A reminder to mark your calendar for the King-Parliament Policy Directions Open House.

Date: Thursday, November 21, 2019
Location: North Market Tent, 125 The Esplanade
Time: 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., presentation at 7:00 p.m.

The proposed King-Parliament Secondary Plan was adopted by City Council on October 29, 2019. The proposed Plan and accompanying staff report are available online. Council has also provided direction for a Zoning By-law update of the King-Parliament area. This update will be twinned with the Secondary Plan Review, resulting in a comprehensive planning framework for the area by Fall 2020.

Come find out what the proposed Plan includes and have your say on how we move forward.

If you would like to provide input on the proposed Plan to the planning team in advance of the Open House, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Michelle Drylie at (416) 392-3436.

Otherwise, we hope to see you on the 21st!

 

Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:
• Follow: @CityPlanTO
• Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.October 31, 2019
Update #9

Join us at our Policy Directions Open House!

The proposed King-Parliament Secondary Plan was adopted by City Council on October 29, 2019. The proposed Plan and accompanying staff report are available online.

As an area targeted for growth and new investment, the proposed Plan recommends that development occur across a full mix of uses that are designed to be compatible with their existing and planned context, conserve cultural heritage resources and improve and expand the public realm.

In addition, Council has provided direction for a Zoning By-law update of the King-Parliament area. This update will be twinned with the Secondary Plan Review, resulting in a comprehensive planning framework for the area by Fall 2020.

In order to finalize the policy direction included in the proposed Plan and to kick-off the Zoning By-law update, the King-Parliament team will be holding additional consultation throughout the Fall and Winter.

To comment on the proposed Plan and for more information on the Zoning By-law update, please join us at our next Open House:

Date: Thursday, November 21, 2019
Location: North Market Tent, 125 The Esplanade
Time: 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., presentation at 7:00 p.m.

If you would like to provide input on the proposed Plan to the planning team in advance of the Open House, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Michelle Drylie at (416) 392-3436.

 

Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:
• Follow: @CityPlanTO
• Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

September 26, 2019
Update #8

Proposed Secondary Plan at Community Council

Building on a year of significant research, analysis and consultation, the King-Parliament planning team has developed a proposed Secondary Plan for the area. The proposed Plan will be considered by Toronto East York Community Council on October 10, 2019.

A summary of policy directions included in the proposed Plan is available from the Information and Reports section of our website.

The proposed Plan and supporting staff report will be available from the Community Council agenda page one week in advance of the meeting.

The proposed Plan builds on the success of the in-force King-Parliament Secondary Plan (1996) in addition to updated direction provided in the recently-approved Downtown Plan. The proposed Plan addresses heritage conservation, the improvement and expansion of parks and the public realm, and built form direction in King-Parliament. The proposed Plan also includes specific objectives to enhance King-Parliament’s role as an employment area and simplify the interpretation of overlapping policy frameworks that exist in the area.

As an area targeted for growth and new investment, the proposed Plan recommends that development occur across a full mix of uses that are designed to be compatible with their existing and planned context, conserve cultural heritage resources and improve and expand the public realm.

If you would like to provide input on the proposed Plan to the planning team, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Michelle Drylie at (416) 392-3436. This input will be considered during the next round of consultation on the King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review, which will take place throughout the fall and winter.

If you would like to provide comments directly to Community Council, you can send a letter via email to teycc@toronto.ca. You can also address Community Council directly through a deputation at the meeting.

 

Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:
• Follow: @CityPlanTO
• Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

July 5, 2019
Update #7

Thank you for popping in!

A great big “thank you” to those of you who participated in the King-Parliament Pop-up on Jarvis Street last month. Whether you went on a walking tour through the area, participated in a lunch and learn, or just dropped by to talk with a planner, we hope the Pop-up offered you the opportunity to learn more about how King-Parliament is growing and changing and to provide feedback on the Secondary Plan Review.

A Pop-up Consultation Summary is now available on our website. Take a look to find out what we heard from you – both about the Secondary Plan Review and the Pop-up format. All of the materials displayed and presentations provided at the Pop-up are also now available on-line. You can find them on our Meetings & Events page.

Proposed Secondary Plan – Fall 2019.

The feedback gathered through the Pop-up, in addition to our earlier consultations, is currently being used to inform the proposed Secondary Plan. The proposed Secondary Plan will be considered by City Council in Fall 2019. Stay tuned for updates on the proposed Secondary Plan beginning in September 2019.

If you have additional input that you’d like to share with the planning team over the summer, please send us your thoughts by email at kingparliament@toronto.ca or call Michelle Drylie at (416) 392-3436.

Lost & Found

A women’s bracelet was found at the Pop-up. If you or someone you know lost it, please get in touch with us with a brief description of what it looks like so we can return it to its rightful owner.

Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

 

Only two days until the Pop-up!

City Planning is coming to King-Parliament from June 8-16, 2019. We’ll be at 73 Jarvis Street, at the southeast corner of Jarvis and Adelaide across from St. James Park. Come out to give us feedback on our emerging policy directions for the King-Parliament Secondary Plan!

Check out our schedule and register for events today! You can also drop-in at any time to chat with a planner.

We’ve added a new lunch & learn.

Did you know that 86% of dwellings in King-Parliament are in buildings over five storeys? And, that of the families that have children in the area, 37% of them have children under the age of 6 years old? To address the needs of families living in dense urban environments, the City of Toronto has developed new urban design guidelines called: Growing Up – Planning for Children in Vertical Communities. The Guidelines focus on design interventions at the neighbourhood, building, and unit scale to help create vital communities for the city’s youngest citizens.

Bring your lunch by the Pop-up and join in a discussion with City Planning staff to discuss the emerging issues that are shaping housing in high-growth areas like King-Parliament.

Meet the Chief Planner.

Don’t miss this chance to meet Chief Planner Gregg Lintern and former Chief Planner Paul Bedford, ask questions and gain valuable insight into planning issues in King-Parliament.

On Thursday, June 13th at 6:00 p.m., Chief Planner Gregg Lintern will share insights on how King-Parliament is growing and changing and what that means for the Downtown and the city as a whole.

On Tuesday, June 11th at 5:30 p.m., former Chief Planner Paul Bedford will provide remarks on the ground-breaking 1996 Secondary Plan, how it has worked, and lessons learned.

Get some pointers on property research.

Is there a missing link in your property research? If you have initiated research on your property, or are looking to get started, join Cory Lemos of the Corktown Residents and Business Association Heritage Committee and Heritage Preservation Services staff to the Problem Solve Your Property Research session. They’ll share some helpful advice on research methods and the process of listing a property on the City’s Heritage Register.

Can’t wait to see you at the Pop-up!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

 

Join us at the King-Parliament Pop-up!

City Planning is coming to King-Parliament from June 8-16, 2019. We’ll be at 73 Jarvis Street, at the southeast corner of Jarvis and Adelaide across from St. James Park. Come out to give us feedback on our emerging policy directions for the King-Parliament Secondary Plan!

 

We’ve added new tours.

Our schedule of events and registration page went live last week. Since then, we’ve added a few new walking tours to our roster. Sign up today!

 

Chat with current and former Chief Planners.

On Thursday, June 13th at 6:00 p.m., Chief Planner Gregg Lintern will share insights on how King-Parliament is growing and changing and what that means for the Downtown and the city as a whole.

On Tuesday, June 11th at 5:30 p.m., former Chief Planner Paul Bedford will provide remarks on the ground-breaking 1996 Secondary Plan, how it has worked, and lessons learned.

 

Bring your lunch to the Pop-up.

Curious about the future of transit on King Street? Join Transportation Services and City Planning staff on Monday, June 10th at noon for a King Street Transit: Beyond the Pilot lunch and learn session.

Want to learn more about the planning process? Ever wonder about what tools planners can use to shape growth in an area? Join us on Tuesday, June 11th or Friday, June 14th at noon for a Planning 101 session with City Planning staff.

We also have lots of open drop-in hours throughout the week. Come by and see us!

Have an idea for the Pop-up or want more information? Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

 

Mark your calendars for the King-Parliament Pop-up!

City Planning is coming to King-Parliament from June 8-16, 2019. We’ll be at 73 Jarvis Street, at the southeast corner of Jarvis and Adelaide across from St. James Park.

 

What’s this Pop-up about?

The King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review kicked-off in January 2019. Now, we’re bringing the Review to the community through an engaging program focused on people’s everyday experience of the area. Drop in to chat with a planner and other special guests, join a walking tour or attend a workshop. If you have ideas on heritage, parks and open spaces, and built form in the area, or just want to learn more about the Review, we want to hear from you!
We will provide updates on the status of the Review and share emerging policy directions. We’ll use your feedback as we develop a proposed Secondary Plan for the King-Parliament area.

 

This sounds awesome! Where do I sign up?

An exciting schedule of events is now available on our website! All events are FREE to the public. Register for events today, then make sure to check back regularly as we continue to add new events.

 

Have an idea for the pop-up or want more information? Get in touch!

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

Join us on Thursday, April 11th for our Built Form Workshop!

Are you interested in the way buildings take shape? Do you have questions or ideas about how new buildings relate to heritage buildings? Ever wonder about the relationship between buildings and open spaces like parks and streets? If so, join us for a public Built Form Workshop on Thursday, April 11th. City staff and consultants will provide a presentation and lead a workshop to discuss your thoughts about recent development in the King-Parliament area and provide more information about the tools that City Planning uses to shape built form.

Date: Thursday, April 11, 2019
Time: 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. (presentation at 6:15 p.m., followed by a workshop)
Location: Temporary North Market Tent, 125 The Esplanade

 

Learn more about King-Parliament

Check out the King-Parliament project website for a new series of Backgrounders on the area. These easy to read summaries provide a full analysis of how the area evolved and what is going on today. Read all five!

  • Policy Framework: A summary of the existing policy direction for the area, in addition to information about the Secondary Plan Review process.
  • Trends: Infographics and charts illustrating demographic, employment and development trends in King-Parliament.
  • Heritage: A detailed description of the history of King-Parliament and a summary of key themes in the evolution of the area.
  • Built Form: A “cheat sheet” of the tools that City Planning uses to shape built form and a look at how building types in the area have changed over the years.
  • Parks & Public Realm: A summary of the direction the new Downtown Parks and Public Realm Plan provides for King-Parliament, and an accounting of existing parkland in the area.

 

King-Parliament Then / Now / Next

Keep an eye on our Twitter and Instagram handles @CityPlanTO or search for #kingparliament beginning March 25th to take part in our Then / Now / Next campaign. We’ll be taking stock of how the neighbourhood used to look and what it’s become. Get involved to share your thoughts on what’s next!

 

Contact Us

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca

Telephone: Michelle Drylie, 416-392-3436

Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

 

Stay tuned for future updates!

 

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

Open House Materials Now Online!

 

Thank you to all who attended the public Open House on January 31, 2019. If you weren’t able to make it, or if you’d like to take another look at the materials presented, you can now find them on our website.

If you’d like an overview of what’s going on in the area today, how things are changing, and what planning policies are already in place, check out the meeting presentation. It also provides information about the three themes of the review: Heritage, Built Form, and Parks & Public Realm.

For more detailed mapping and analysis related to the three themes, you can take a look at the meeting display boards. These are available for download in two parts (Part 1 and Part 2).

A summary of all of the comments we received at the meeting will also be available on our Meetings & Events page soon.

 

Built Form Workshop – April 2019

We are currently preparing for a public Built Form Workshop in early April 2019. If you’re interested in the way buildings take shape – and how they’re influenced by and relate to the historical context and the public realm – this workshop is for you!

 

More information coming soon.

 

Contact Us

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca

Telephone: Michelle Drylie, 416-392-3436

Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

 

Stay tuned for future updates!

 

King Parliament and TOcore graphic with cityscape.

January 24, 2019
Update #1

Join Us!

The City of Toronto is holding an open house to kick off the King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review. Please drop by, take in a presentation, and join a discussion with your neighbours and City staff about the future of your community.

DATE: Thursday, January 31, 2019
TIME: 6:30-8:30 p.m., Presentation at 7:00 p.m.
LOCATION: St. Lawrence Hall, 157 King St. E., 3rd Floor

The King-Parliament Secondary Plan Review will build on the Downtown Plan, and provide specific direction on built form, the public realm and heritage. The Review will also consider the north side of Queen Street East, in the area generally between Sherbourne and River Streets.

Contact Us

Email: kingparliament@toronto.ca
Telephone: 416-392-3436
Twitter and Instagram:

  • Follow: @CityPlanTO
  • Hashtag: #kingparliament

 

Stay tuned for future updates!