General Operating Funding

The General Operating Funding is a stable source of funding to help child care operators offset their operating costs.

Fact Sheets

These fact sheets include tips and suggestions on topics related to managing and operating child care programs.

Not-for-Profit

For a copy of the following, contact 416-392-3336

  • Financial Management Criteria (for all programs)
  • Insurance Requirements: Certificate of Insurance
  • Market Rent Appraisal

Agencies who have a Service Agreement with the City of Toronto may receive payment from the City in advance of services being provided to children and families. Fee subsidy advances for child care centres and home child care agencies are typically paid monthly. General Operating Grant, other wage grants, and base funded programs are typically paid quarterly.

Quarterly payments for Child and Family Programs, Special Needs Resourcing Agencies, Pay Equity, General Operating Grant, and other wage grant payments are processed on the dates noted with an asterik *.

Children’s Services will process payments according to the schedule below, funds will be available in the agency’s bank account within two to five business days.

 Advance payment for Month end dates
February 2017  Tuesday, January 31, 2017
March 2017  Thursday, February 23, 2017
April 2017  Tuesday, March 28*, 2017
May 2017  Tuesday, April 25, 2017
June 2017  Thursday, May 25, 2017
July 2017  Tuesday, June 27*, 2017
August 2017  Tuesday, July 25, 2017
September 2017 Tuesday, August 29, 2017
October 2017   Tuesday, September 26*, 2017
November 2017  Thursday, October 26, 2017
December 2017 Tuesday, November 28, 2017
January 2018 Tuesday, December 19* ^, 2017
 February 2018  Thursday, January 25, 2018
 March 2018 Thursday, February 22, 2018
 April 2018  Thursday , March 22*, 2018
 May 2018  Tuesday, April 24, 2018
 June 2018  Thursday, May 24, 2018
 July 2018  Tuesday, June 26*, 2018
 August 2018  Thursday, July 26, 2018
 September 2018  Tuesday, August 28, 2018
 October 2018  Tuesday, September 25*, 2018
 November 2018  Thursday, October 25, 2018
December 2018  Tuesday, November 27, 2018
January 2019 Tuesday, December 18* ^, 2018

 

^ Although advance payments are processed on this date, payments are not released until January 1st as the City’s fiscal year end is December 31st.

Budget guidelines for:

Budget forms (Excel files) for: