Here are the details for Shelter Management Information System (SMIS) training for the first six months of 2019, including the session schedule and how to register.

Tuesday, January 8

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 10

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, January 22

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 5:30 – 9 p.m.

Thursday, January 24

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Monday, February 4

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 12

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 14

  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 21

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 26

  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 12

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Monday, March 18

  • 5:30 – 9 p.m.

Thursday, March 21

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 26

  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 4

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 11

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 23

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 30

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, May 7

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 5:30 – 9 p.m.

Tuesday, May 14

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 23

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 29

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, June 6

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1 – 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, June 12

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 18

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • 1  – 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, June 26th

  • 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

To register, please complete the SMIS registration form and submit via email in a Word format to smistraining@toronto.ca.

For SMIS registration inquiries please call 416-392-8741

Confirmation emails will be sent to the Access Managers following submission of registration forms. Participants will not be allowed to attend classes until this confirmation email is sent by Head Office. Homelessness Initiatives & Prevention Services (HIPS) Head Office requires seven business days written cancellation notice prior to the training date. It is the responsibility of the prospective agency and/or individual to ensure that the cancellation has been received.

If the registrant cannot attend, an email may be sent to smistraining@toronto.ca informing Head Office that an alternate staff will be sent.

Training

Training is located at 625 Church Street 5th Floor, which is also known as the Traders Building. The building is on the east side of Church Street, one block south of Bloor Street. This is a short walk from the Bloor-Yonge subway station.

Parking

There is paid parking at the back of the building, however the costs are high ($50 maximum daily rate). Canadian Tire and The Hudson’s Bay have paid parking, and there is street parking on Charles Street as well as a Green P and street parking on Isabella Street.

Taking the TTC subway to Bloor-Yonge subway station would be the most convenient way to travel to the training location.

Lateness/No Shows

Staff that arrive late (15 mins or more) will not be allowed to enter the session.

Once staff have completed training, the access manager or designate need to complete the SMIS User Access Request form and have the staff sign the SMIS user agreement. Once complete these forms are emailed to smishelp@toronto.ca.