For more information about the Eglinton Crosstown West Extension, please visit the Metrolinx Eglinton Crosstown West Extension project page.

Project Background

The Eglinton Crosstown West Extension (ECWE) extends Line 5 (Eglinton Crosstown LRT Opens in new window) from the existing Mount Dennis Station to Renforth Station, spanning 9.2 km. It is mainly grade-separated with seven new stations, including two elevated stations at Jane and Scarlett, four underground stations at Royal York, Islington, Kipling and Martin Grove and a terminus at Renforth Station.

The project has been identified as the sole responsibility of Metrolinx. According to the 2019 Provincial Budget, this project is estimated to be completed by 2030-31.


Project planning and design is being led by Metrolinx. Metrolinx published the ECWE Initial Business Case (IBC) in February 2020. An Environmental Project Report Addendum was published in June 2020, and granted ministerial approval in August 2020.

For more details regarding planning and design work underway, see Metrolinx’s ECWE project page.