A Community Safety Zone (CSZ) is a designated stretch of roadway, recognized under provincial legislation, marked with community safety zone signs allowing the doubling of fines associated with speeding and, through the applicable sections of Bill 65, Safer School Zones Act, 2017, the use of an automated speed enforcement system.

In 2018, City Council lifted the moratorium on the creation of new Community Safety Zones and designated the frontages of all elementary and high (kindergarten to grade 12) Toronto District School Board (TDSB) and Toronto Catholic District School Boards (TCDSB) schools within the City as CSZ in order to help reduce aggressive driving and speeding in areas within the City that have higher concentrations of school children. By doing so, these zones are eligible for automated speed enforcement under the Highway Traffic Act and the benefit of speeding fines being doubled along these key walking and biking routes to schools.