Skip to content City of Toronto

The City has 10 community centres that are managed, operated and maintained by volunteer Boards of Management, which are collectively referred to as the Association of Community Centres (AOCCs).

The community centres are multi-purpose facilities that provide public space, programs and services to meet the recreation and social needs of local communities. They are committed to fostering a sense of community, promoting civic engagement and enhancing the quality of life through their community, recreational and social service programs.

The core administrative activities of the community centres are funded by the City while the program component is funded through fees, donations and grants.

View the City’s Budget for detailed budget information on AOCC’s service activities.


Community Centre Boards are established or continued under the City of Toronto Act, 2006, which permits the City to appoint a city board to manage a community centre facility and provide for its administration.

The mandate and governance structures of Community Centre Boards are set out in Former City of Toronto Municipal Code, Chapter 25, Community and Recreation Centres. A Council-approved Relationship Framework further defines the relationship between the City and the Community Centre Boards and sets out Council’s delegation of authority, expectations and requirements for each board.

The Community Centre Boards are composed of public members appointed by Community Councils through the City’s Public Appointments process.  The majority of public members must be residents of the Community Centre’s catchment area. The City Councillor of the ward in which the community centre is located is a member of the board by-right-of-office.  Each board elects a Chair and may elect a Vice-Chair from among its members.

Public Appointments and Community Centre Contacts

Public Appointments provides information on the membership of each Community Centre Board and opportunities to serve on a board.  Contact information for each community centre is also provided in the table below.

Community Centre Board – Public Appointments Community Centre Contact Information
519 Church Street Community Centre (the 519)

519 Church Street, Toronto, ON M4Y 2C9

Telephone: 416-392-6874, Fax: 416-392-0519


Website: the 519

Applegrove Community Complex

60 Woodfield Road, Toronto, ON M4L 2W6

Telephone: 416-461-8143, Fax: 416-461-5513


Website: Applegrove Community Complex

Cecil Community Centre

58 Cecil St., Toronto, ON M5T 1N6

Telephone: 416-392-1090, Fax: 416-392-1093

Website: Cecil Community Centre

Central Eglinton Community Centre

160 Eglinton Avenue East, Toronto, ON M4P 3B5

Telephone: 416-392-0511, Fax: 416-392-0514


Website: Central Eglinton Community Centre

Community Centre 55

97 Main Street, Toronto, ON M4E 2V6

Telephone: 416-691-1113, Fax: 416-691-8269


Website: Community Centre 55

Eastview Neighbourhood Community Centre

86 Blake St., Toronto, ON M4J 3C9

Telephone: 416-392-1750, Fax: 416-392-1175


Website: Eastview Neighbourhood Community Centre

Ralph Thornton Community Centre

765 Queen St. E., Toronto, ON M4M 1H3

Telephone: 416-392-6810, Fax: 416-392-0025

Website: Ralph Thornton Community Centre

Scadding Court Community Centre

707 Dundas St. W., Toronto, ON M5T 2W6

Telephone: 416-392-0335, Fax: 416-392-0340


Website: Scadding Court Community Centre

Swansea Town Hall Community Centre

95 Lavinia Ave., Toronto, ON M6S 3H9

Telephone: 416-392-1954, Fax: 416-392-1955


Website: Swansea Town Hall Community Centre

Waterfront Neighbourhood Centre

627 Queens Quay West, Toronto, ON M5V 3G3

Telephone: 416-392-1509, jFax: 416-392-1512


Website: Waterfront Neighborhood Centre

Key Council Decisions

 Search for other City Council decisions about Community Centre Boards.