Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) is one of Ontario’s 36 conservation authorities with the mandate to ensure the conservation, restoration and responsible management of Ontario’s water, land and natural habitats through programs that balance human, environmental and economic needs.

TRCA has six participating municipalities:

  • City of Toronto
  • Regional Municipality of Durham
  • Regional Municipality of Peel
  • Regional Municipality of York
  • Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
  • Town of Mono

TRCA works with its six-member municipalities and other partners to further the conservation, restoration, development, and management of natural resources within its jurisdiction which is comprised of nine watersheds in the Toronto Region and the Lake Ontario shoreline. TRCA’s lands (almost 18,000 hectares) are made available to the public for outdoor and conservation education and recreational uses.

Key services and programs developed and delivered by TRCA include flood and erosion risk management, stormwater and watershed management, greenspace management and regulation of planning and development (review and permit approvals) on lands within its jurisdiction.

All six member municipalities contribute to TRCA’s operating and capital budgets. View the City’s Budget for detailed information on the Toronto Region Conservation Area.

Read TRCA’s latest Annual Report for highlights of its recent initiatives.


TRCA was established in 1957 under the Conservation Authorities Act which sets out the mandate, governance, authorities and other provisions for conservation authorities in Ontario. TRCA is designated as source protection authority in the Ontario Clean Water Act which governs the protection of source drinking water in Ontario.

TRCA’s 28-member Board of Directors (TRCA Board) sets strategic policy and supervises the management of the business and affairs of the TRCA. City Council appoints 14 members which currently includes seven public members, appointed through the City’s Public Appointments process, and seven City Council members. The other 14 members are appointed by participating municipalities. The Board appoints a Chair and Vice-Chair from among its members.

Find out about opportunities to serve on the TRCA Board and its current membership.

Key Council Decisions

Search for City Council decisions about TRCA.