Please note that effective immediately, all Community Development Unit activities have been suspended and redirected to support the City of Toronto’s efforts to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please visit the City’s COVID-19 page for more information.

The City of Toronto has Community Development Officers (CDO) that can work with you, your neighbourhood or organization on community planning, community safety, Tower Renewal and more. Find the most appropriate Community Development Officer below.

The Toronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020 (TSNS 2020) is the City of Toronto’s action plan for ensuring that each of our 140 neighbourhoods can succeed and thrive. TSNS 2020 supports healthy communities across Toronto by partnering with residents, businesses and agencies to invest in people, services, programs and facilities in 31 Neighbourhood Improvement Areas and eight Emerging Neighbourhoods.

Currently, Community Development Officers are supporting the City of Toronto’s emergency response to COVID-19 through the Community Coordination Plan.  Community Development Officers are listed below by Cluster.

Diarra Hughes

Black Creek Humber Summit Cluster
Phone: 647-888-2483
Email: Diarra.Hughes@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Areas: Humber Summit, Humbermede, Black Creek, Glenfield-Jane Heights, Downsview-Roding-CFB, York University Heights

Wards: York Centre and Humber River-Black Creek

Richard Kirwan

Downtown East Cluster
Phone: 647-268-5548
Email: Richard.Kirwan@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Area: Regent Park

Ward: Toronto Centre

Rebecca Wallace

Downtown West Cluster
Phone: 647-458-1764
Email: Rebecca.Wallace@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Area: South Parkdale

Wards: Parkdale-High Park, Davenport, Spadina-Fort York, University-Rosedale and Toronto Centre

Edna Ali

East York Don Valley Cluster
Phone: 416-737-5733
Email: Edna.Ali@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Areas: Flemingdon Park, Thorncliffe Park, Victoria Village, Crescent Town

Wards: Eglinton-Lawrence, University-Rosedale, Toronto-St. Paul’s, Toronto-Danforth, Don Valley West, Don Valley East and Beaches-East York

Sherry Phillips

North Etobicoke Cluster
Phone: 416-892-3119
Email: Sherry.Phillips@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Areas: Elms-Old Rexdale, Thistletown-Beaumoud Heights, Mount Olive-Silverstone-Jamestown, Kingsview Village-The Westway

Emerging Neighbourhoods: Humber Heights-Westmount

Wards: Etobicoke North and Etobicoke Centre

Wayne Robinson

South Etobicoke Cluster
Phone: 416-206-1553
Email: Wayne.Robinson@toronto.ca

Wards: Etobicoke Centre and Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Blaine Felix

North Scarborough Cluster
Phone: 437-882-4212
Email: Blaine.Felix@toronto.ca

Emerging Neighbourhoods: Malvern, Steeles, L’Amoreaux

Wards: Scarborough-Agincourt, Scarborough North and Scarborough-Rouge Park

Saida Osman

South Scarborough Cluster
Phone: 416-320-8636
Email:Saida.Osman@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Areas: Oakridge, West Hill, Morningside, Scarborough Village, Woburn, Eglinton East, Kennedy Park, Ionview

Emerging Neighbourhoods: Dorset Park

Wards: Scarborough Southwest, Scarborough Centre, Scarborough-Guildwood and Scarborough-Rouge Park

Melody Brown

York Weston Pelham Cluster
Phone: 416-894-3819
Email: Melody.Brown@toronto.ca

Neighbourhood Improvement Areas: Weston, Mount Dennis, Beechborough-Greenbrook, Keelesdale-Eglinton West, Rustic, Rockcliffe-Smythe, Weston-Pelham Park

Wards: Parkdale-High Park, York-South Weston, Humber River-Black Creek, Davenport, University-Rosedale and Toronto-St. Paul’s

Rosemary Bell

North York Cluster
Phone: 416-889-1285
Email: Rosemary.Bell@toronto.ca

Emerging Neighbourhoods: Westminster-Branson, Yorkdale-Glen Park, Englemount-Lawrence

Wards: York Centre, Eglinton-Lawrence, Don Valley West, Don Valley East, Don Valley North and Willowdale

The City of manages a variety of youth development programs including those focused on employment.

Laura Metcalfe

Phone: 647-216-2157
Email: Laura.Metcalfe@toronto.ca

Zannalyn Robest

Phone: 416-894-5290
Email: Zannalyn.Robest@toronto.ca

The CCRP team supports communities with the development of safety networks that create neighbourhood strategies which focus on Crisis Intervention, Crisis Prevention, and Crisis Preparation. When communities have been impacted by violent and traumatic incidents, the CCRP further supports communities with the recovery and healing process.

Scerena Officer

Manager
Phone: 416-886-7542
Email: Scerena.Officer@toronto.ca

Kecia Richardson

Supervisor
Phone: 647-462-6053
Email: Kecia.Richardson@toronto.ca

Thipika Balakrishnan

Phone: 416-677-5291
Email: Thipika.Balakrishnan@toronto.ca

Kevin Bourne

Phone: 416-677-5094
Email: Kevin.Bourne@toronto.ca

Temesgen Ghebremicael

Phone: 416-206-0439
Email: Temesgen.Ghebremicael@toronto.ca

Shane Jeremiah

Phone: 416-270-1387
Email: Shane.Jeremiah@toronto.ca

Ashley Kakuk

Wellness and Recovery
Phone: 437-928-5816
Email: Ashley.Kakuk@toronto.ca

Blaire Hinsperger-Fox

Wellness and Recovery
Phone: 647-217-4368
Email: Blaire.Hinsperger-Fox@toronto.ca

Stephanie Mazerolle

Phone: 416-526-0588
Email: Stephanie.Mazerolle@toronto.ca

Saleha Nahdi

Phone: 647-210-8189
Email: Saleha.Nahdi@toronto.ca

SPIDER’s mission is to reduce the recurrence of risks and promote the safe inclusion of vulnerable Torontonians in their communities by ensuring that:

  • the response of City of Toronto Divisions is coordinated
  • community health care, social and community services are made available
  • operational and system level reforms are identified and promoted to eliminate future issues

Scerena Officer

Manager
Phone: 416-886-7542
Email: Scerena.Officer@toronto.ca

Tamasha Grant

Supervisor
Phone: 416-392-7108
Email: Tamasha.Grant@toronto.ca

Julia Fremeau

Phone: 437-833-3834
Email: Julia.Fremeau@toronto.ca

Omar Sybbliss

Phone: 416-677-5461
Email: Omar.Sybbliss@toronto.ca

Furthering Our Community by Uniting Services (FOCUS) is an innovative Community Safety and Well-Being Initiative co-led by the City of Toronto, United Way Toronto and Toronto Police Service that aims to reduce crime, victimization and improve community resiliency and well-being. The model builds off of lessons learned through the Community Crisis Response Program.

Scerena Officer

Manager
Community Safety & Wellbeing
Phone: 416-886-7542
Email: Scerena.Officer@toronto.ca

Tamasha Grant

Supervisor
Community Safety & Wellbeing
Phone: 416-392-7108
Email: Tamasha.Grant@toronto.ca

Evon Smith

Coordination Manager
United Way Greater Toronto
Phone: 416-559-1829
Email: esmith@uwgt.org

Sgt Brian Smith

Toronto Police Service
Phone: 416-808-0145
Email: Brian.Smith@torontopolice.on.ca

In January 2015, Social Development, Finance and Administration restructured and created a new Tower Renewal Program with a greater focus on partner collaboration and implementation of Tower Renewal and Community Revitalization mandates.

Rolfe Santos

Phone: 416-993-9590
Email: Rolfe.Santos@toronto.ca