Gibson House was built in 1851 and became a heritage museum in 1971, interpreting 19th-century domestic arts and rural life skills that include culinary and textile arts, gardening and farming. This elegant farmhouse reveals the evolution of North York through the experience of David Gibson – Scottish immigrant, land surveyor, farmer, politician and rebel – and his family. Gibson Park features an apple orchard, gardens, a public art installation and a large granite wall etched with photos of Gibson descendants.
The museum is situated between treed parkland and pathways connecting the adjacent high-rise residential buildings to the north and Gibson Park to the south. The Gibson House Museum includes the historic Gibson family home with a modern addition.
Buy tickets online to book a time slot for your visit.
Wednesday to Sunday, from 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Gibson House Museum is north of the North York Centre subway station. Walk north on the west side of Yonge St. along Park Home Avenue to our new entrance, just west of the new Menkes condominium. For specific TTC route and schedule information call 416-393-4636 (INFO) or visit the TTC website.
Gibson House Museum, a red brick Georgian Revival farmhouse, was acquired and lived in by the Gibson family in 1829. David Gibson was a land surveyor who helped map early Toronto. Wanted by the government for participating in the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837, Gibson was forced to flee to the United States where he and his family remained for 11 years. On their return to York County, the Gibsons built this beautiful home and once again became active members of their rural community.