News Release
February 14, 2020

Today, the City of Toronto and the Province of Ontario signed the preliminary Toronto-Ontario Transit Partnership Agreement
This agreement was signed by Chris Murray, City Manager, Michael Lindsay, Special Advisor to Cabinet – Transit Upload, and Shelley Tapp, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Transportation. The agreement formalizes a series of terms approved by Council on October 29, 2019 This agreement is the first in a series of agreements between the Province and City related to several transit initiatives.

Both governments are committed to working together to expand transit in Toronto. This agreement relates to the multi-billion dollar investment in transit initiatives over the next twenty years. In particular:
• The Province of Ontario’s four priority transit projects: The Ontario Line, Line 2 East Extension (three-stop expansion of Line 2 into Scarborough), Yonge North Subway Extension and Eglinton Crosstown West Extension
• TTC state of good repair enhancements, modernization/upgrades and other expansion to the TTC subway system
• The Bloor-Yonge Capacity Enhancement Project
• The stations program for GO Expansion/SmartTrack in Toronto
• Commitment to ongoing Province-City engagement and collaboration to support delivery.

Toronto is home to more than 2.9 million people whose diversity and experiences make this great city Canada’s leading economic engine and one of the world’s most diverse and livable cities. As the fourth largest city in North America, Toronto is a global leader in technology, finance, film, music, culture, and innovation, and consistently places at the top of international rankings due to investments championed by its government, residents and businesses. For more information visit or follow us on Twitter at, on Instagram at or on Facebook at

– 30 –

Kris Scheuer
Strategic Communications