The Property Standards Committee hears appeals of orders issued by City Property Standards Officers for violations of certain Ontario Building Code and municipal bylaw standards for residential, multi-residential and commercial properties.

Municipal Licensing and Standards Division provides the operating budget and meeting management support for the Committee.


The Property Standards Committee is established under the authority of the Building Code Act, 1992 and is governed by provisions in the Act and Toronto Municipal Code, Chapter 629, Property Standards.

The Committee operates with the rules set out in the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, 1990.

The Committee consists of 16 public members appointed by City Council through the City’s Public Appointments process. The members are organized into four hearing panels which are based on the City’s four service districts. The Committee members appoint a city-wide Chair and a Chair for each of the four hearing panels.

Find out about opportunities to serve on the Property Standards Committee and its current membership.

Key Council Decisions

Search for other City Council decisions about the Property Standards Committee.