The Committee of Adjustment holds public hearings and makes decisions on applications for minor variances to City zoning bylaws and land severances (also known as consents). The Committee is organized into four panels corresponding to the boundaries of the four Community Councils.

Committee of Adjustment decisions may be appealed to the Toronto Local Appeal Body.

City Planning Division provides the operating budget and meeting management support for the Committee of Adjustment.


The Committee of Adjustment is established under and governed by the Planning Act, which sets out the powers of the Committee. Toronto Municipal Code, Chapter 4, Committee of Adjustment sets out the Committee’s composition and delegated authorities from Council. The Committee operates with rules set out in the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, 1990.

The Committee consists of 35 members of the public appointed by City Council through the City’s Public Appointments process. The Committee membership reflects the City’s geographic districts as follows:

  • Five members from Scarborough
  • Eight members from Etobicoke York
  • Ten members from North York
  • Twelve members from Toronto and East York

Each panel elects a Chair from among its members.

Find out about opportunities to serve on the Committee of Adjustment and its current membership.

Key Council Decisions

Search for other City Council decisions about the Committee of Adjustment.