Complete the Access, Equity and Human Rights Awards survey by Wednesday, March 8 at 11:59 p.m. to help inform recommendations and future decision-making. A report will be available on this page later this year.

The Access, Equity and Human Rights Awards will be paused in 2022. Please continue to check this website for updates or email for more information.

About The Awards

The City of Toronto’s Access, Equity and Human Rights (AEHR) Awards recognize people, organizations or programs that have created a more equitable city by advancing reconciliation and justice, addressing discrimination, and working to eliminate barriers to equality. The awards are community-driven, nominations come from Toronto residents and are selected by a panel made up of community members with expertise and knowledge of issues relevant to the award categories.

Based on feedback from community partners, the AEHR Awards will be paused in 2022 in order to review the awards process and categories to ensure that achievements are recognized in a way that is meaningful to communities.

While the City conducts this review, no nominations will be accepted.

For more information, please contact

2021 Awards

A virtual awards ceremony was held on December 10, 2021 and can be watched on the City’s YouTube channel.

2021 Honourable Mentions

The City recognizes the following nominations and thanks them for their contributions and impact:

  • 5n2
  • Aura Freedom
  • Black Urbanism TO
  • Caroline Tutakiewicz, Director, Strategic Programs Lead, RBC Ventures
  • Ciragh Lyons, Community Engagement & Events Manager, Pegasus
  • Danielle Strnad, Founder & Executive Director, DramaWay
  • David Steven Swann
  • Developing Young Leaders of Tomorrow, Today (DYLOTT)
  • Dr. Fariba Bashiri, President, Iranian Women’s Organization of Ontario
  • Hong Fook Mental Health Foundation
  • Ian White, President, CCB Toronto Visionaries Chapter, Canadian Council of the Blind
  • Melanie Taddeo, Founder, Connect 4 Life
  • Nina Zaslavsky, Board of Directors, North York Arts
  • Paul Taylor, Foodshare Toronto
  • Reelworld
  • Samuel Kisitu
  • Shreya Patel
  • Wendy Porch, Executive Director, Centre for Independent Living in Toronto

Mino Bimaadiziwin (Indigenous Award)

For those whose volunteer efforts have improved the well-being and advancement of the Indigenous community.

Disability Access Award

Given to a person, group or organization that has made a significant contribution towards improving access for people with disabilities.

Constance E. Hamilton Award for Women's Equality

Recognizes a resident whose actions have helped secure equitable treatment for women and gender non-conforming people in Toronto, either socially, economically or culturally.

Pride Award

Honours a person, group or non-profit organization that has made a significant or ongoing contribution to the well-being, advancement and inclusion of 2SLGBTQ+ communities in Toronto.

William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award

Awarded to a resident or organization that has made a significant contribution to challenge racism and support a more harmonious city.

Past Recipients (pre-2013)

Find out who received earlier Access, Equity and Human Rights Awards prior to 2013.