About the Mayor’s Community Safety Awards

Developed by the Task Force on Community Safety in 2002, the Mayor’s Community Safety Awards is an annual event that recognizes five outstanding projects that contribute to community safety in Toronto.

The awards celebrate projects that:

  • promote the safety of neighbourhoods and communities, including priority populations such as: Indigenous Peoples, ethno-cultural/ racial minorities, people with disabilities, lesbian/gay/bisexual/two-spirited/trans persons, newcomers, youth, people with low income, women and children exposed to violence
  • Help victims of crime
  • Reduce violence within high-risk communities
  • Build partnerships with the community, its organizations and/or the corporate/business sector while promoting safety and/or violence prevention

Award winners receive public recognition at a ceremony hosted by the Mayor and a high-ranking Toronto Police official at City Hall, a commemorative certificate and a $1,000 cash award from Bell (the annual event sponsor since 2004) to continue their work to help improve community safety.

To be eligible for a Mayor’s Community Safety Award a project must:

  • Promote violence prevention, reduce violence and help victims and/or increase community safety
  • Demonstrate innovation and can serve as a model to other groups, individuals and communities
  • Encourage and develop partnerships in building safer, stronger communities
  • Be initiated by a Toronto-based organization and benefit Toronto communities
  • Not have previously received a Mayor’s Community Safety Award

Note: Projects operated by the City of Toronto’s Agencies, Boards, Commissions, and/or Divisions or by other orders of government are not eligible to receive awards.

About the selection process

The selection committee includes representatives from the business sector, the Toronto Police Service, the Toronto Youth Cabinet, the Seniors Forum and the City’s Social Development Finance and Administration Division. Members of the selection committee will declare any affiliations and/or conflicts of interest in regards to reviewing nominations. Each application will be reviewed using standard criteria. Organizations may submit more than one eligible project; however, only one project will be selected annually from an organization for an award.