City of Toronto   *
HomeContact UsHow Do I...? Advanced search
Living in TorontoDoing businessVisiting TorontoAccessing City Hall *
blue bullet Toronto facts
blue bullet City Government
blue bullet Geography
blue bullet Demographics
blue bullet Infrastucture
blue bullet Business, economic development
blue bullet Arts and culture
blue bullet Entertainment & tourism
blue bullet Diversity
blue bullet Toronto maps
* * Government structure *
* *

Torontonians elect representatives to three levels of government:

Toronto City HallToronto's municipal government has 44 elected councillors (representing approx. 55,000 people each) who along with the mayor make up Toronto City Council. Toronto elects a new local government every four years.

The 1998 restructuring of Toronto's municipal government has been one of the most ambitious undertakings in North America. Seven large municipalities were combined, municipal and provincial responsibilities revamped, and property tax reformed. Only the governments of Canada, British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario and Quebec govern larger populations than the City of Toronto.


*Toronto maps | Get involved | Toronto links | 311 | Comment | Subscribe | Privacy statement
© City of Toronto 1998-2013